Schedule Active Directory synchronization in Bold Reports®
You can schedule Bold Reports® On-Premises Edition to synchronize users and groups from Active Directory on a recurring basis.
What do I need before scheduling Active Directory synchronization?
Before you schedule Active Directory synchronization for users and groups in Bold Reports® On-Premises Edition, complete the following steps:
- Configure the Active Directory Settings.
- To synchronize Active Directory users, import them from Active Directory to Bold Reports® On-Premises Edition using the Import Active Directory Users.
- For synchronizing the Active Directory groups, import the groups from Active Directory to Bold Reports® On-Premises Edition using the Import Active Directory Groups.
How does the Active Directory synchronization schedule work?
The following images show the Windows AD option and the Active Directory synchronization schedule in Bold Reports® Report Server.

-
You can synchronize users and groups from Active Directory on a schedule to keep their details up to date in the Report Server.
-
Active Directory synchronization facilitates synchronization for the following entities:
- Users
- Groups
-
During synchronization, users will be added to or removed from the Bold Reports® Server depending on their presence in the specified distinguished name within Active Directory.
-
For more details on synchronizing users and groups from Active Directory with the Report Server, see the following links:
Who gets email notifications about synchronization?
After the scheduled synchronization recurrence is completed, Bold Reports® notifies members of the System Administrator group by email about the synchronization status.
How do I enable or disable the synchronization schedule?
You can enable or disable the Bold Reports® synchronization schedule at any time with the checkbox at the top.
Frequently asked questions
Which entities does Active Directory synchronization update?
Active Directory synchronization updates users and groups.
Are users removed during synchronization?
Yes. Users are added to or removed from the Bold Reports® Server depending on their presence in the specified distinguished name within Active Directory.