Synchronize Active Directory groups in Bold Reports®

Bold Reports® On-Premises Edition synchronizes imported Active Directory groups and their users with Active Directory from the group synchronization page.

What do I need before synchronizing groups?

Bold Reports® On-Premises Edition needs a configured Active Directory connection and imported groups before you synchronize.

Before synchronizing the Active Directory groups, follow these steps:

You can navigate to the group synchronization page from the groups page. Active Directory synchronization button selection

Synchronize groups

The Bold Reports® Server displays a list of Active Directory groups that have already been imported. Active Directory imported group list

To synchronize groups, follow these steps:

  1. Select the groups you want to synchronize.
  2. Click Synchronize at the top right corner.

Active Directory group synchronize button

Synchronization procedure

The Bold Reports® Report Server applies the following changes from Active Directory during synchronization:

  • The group details, such as name and description, are synchronized with the Active Directory Server.

  • The Bold Reports® Report Server deletes the group if it has been deleted from the Active Directory Server.

  • The Bold Reports® Server removes a user from the server group if the user has been deleted from the Active Directory Server group. If a new user is added to the Active Directory group, the Bold Reports® Server adds the user to the server group. If the new user is not already present in the Bold Reports® Server, a new user account is created and added to the group.

  • After synchronization completes, the success message box displays the number of groups modified, deleted, and duplicated.

Synchronization confirmation window

What happens to duplicate groups?

The Bold Reports® Server identifies Active Directory groups that have the same group name as existing server groups as duplicate groups. Duplicate groups are not allowed to synchronize with Active Directory.

Displays duplicated groups in synchronization

Frequently asked questions

What happens when a group is deleted in Active Directory?

The Bold Reports® Report Server deletes the group during synchronization if it has been deleted from the Active Directory Server.

What happens when a new user joins an Active Directory group?

The Bold Reports® Server adds the user to the server group. If the user is not already present, a new user account is created and added to the group.

See also